October Meeting Recap

Oct 10, 2018

The National Capital Chapter had the distinct privilege of hosting OSHA Deputy Director for Construction Scott Ketcham for an OSHA Update. Scott has a long and dynamic history at OSHA and his passion for safety and for the work the agency does is very apparent.

Scott provided an update on the top citations in construction (little has changed) and gave an overview into some of the current agency regulatory activities.

One of the current projects relates to standards improvement across all published standards. Some examples of these changes include removing SSN requirements in standards, clarifying PPE fit, clarifying recordkeeping for noise, and removing the requirement for load capacities on the floors of residential structures. These are not drastic rule changes rather smaller technical improvements.

Cranes are another topic currently in the regulatory stages. Comments from the Railroad Crane changes are currently undergoing review. OSHA is also reviewing all crane standard (Subpart CC) amendments and has the standard under staff development. Some of the considerations include proximity alarms and device protections. The final crane rule will be published on or before 11/10/2018. Also on the subject of cranes, a MOU was published in June 2017 regarding monorail hoists and what equipment is exempt from Subpart CC instead falling under Subpart O.

On the subject of Silica, new FAQs are available and have been published by OSHA. There are also new videos available. One question that was raised was whether any state plans are going above and beyond the Federal OSHA Requirements. To the knowledge of the Deputy Director on this date none were known. The top citations continue to be exposure assessments, specific exposure control measures, written exposure control plans, communication of RCS to employees, and employee training.

OSHA currently has a trenching initiative taking place. This means that an additional 10% of OSHA resources will be focused on trenching and excavation. This boils down to a simple fact that Compliance Officers will be stopping if they see a trench and initiate an inspection. Of particular note, the Deputy Director wanted employers to know that access and egress must be within the confines of any trench boxes or protection. Trenching and excavation has numerous resources available on the OSHA website including new tool box talk videos. If you would like to have a stand down, it was recommended to reach out to your local OSHA, NUCA, or NAXSA Representatives to see if they can assist you.

Thank you to AFLAC and David Matcha for sponsoring this event and to Smithsonian Institution SHEM for hosting.

The presentation used by Deputy Director Ketcham will be posted once it is received by the chapter.


ASSP Region VI Hurricane Relief Efforts

Sep 28, 2018

Please join ASSP Region VI in supporting Hurricane Florence Relief efforts throughout the Carolina’s.

Additional details and means to support can be given through this link:

MACSC 2019 Sponsorship, Exhibitor Booths, and Registration Opens October 15th

Sep 21, 2018

The Mid Atlantic Construction Safety Conference is a regionally coordinated educational and networking conference. Six Regional and National Chapters and Associations have combined their resources in an effort to address the needs of those with a vested interest in construction safety. As a seed organization for the conference, the National Capital Chapter encourages all members to attend the day-long conference and continue to grow and develop as professionals.

The 2019 Conference will be held April 23, 2019 at Martins Crosswinds in Greenbelt, MD.

Registration for all levels of Sponsorship, Exhibitors, and Attendees will be available on October 15, 2018.

Additional details can be found on the conference website:

NCC September Meeting Recap: Interactive Construction Crane Event

Sep 18, 2018



Cranes are intricate, dynamic, and often misunderstood. Miller and Long Vice President of Safety Frank Trujillo, MS, CSP helped shed some light on a few areas commonly overlooked.

The first area of note was a review of the importance of adequate ground conditions and a review of the assembly and disassembly processes. Controlling entities are responsible for ensuring that conditions are adequate and are potentially liable should they force a crane operation to take place in an area that is less than adequate.

Assembly and Disassembly present a unique option to crane users. Either the employer or manufacturer can write the procedures. This means that controlling entities need to review which set of procedures has been chosen and ask any clarifying questions that might arise. The presentation also spent a great time discussing blocking under outriggers and the importance of reviewing this aspect of the crane plan to ensure no corners have been cut.

Following a review of power line safety with relation to cranes Austin Cichon from Clark spoke about the importance of a daily, weekly, and start up checklist and what items should be covered in each time period. Some examples were also given about the relationship and nature of questions or information that should flow between a controlling entity and the contractor performing the work.

Following the presentation, we went out on a nearby jobsite and saw some of these very same principles in action as assisted in performing a crane pick.

Thank you to Miller & Long and Clark for your generosity and support!

Chapter Meeting Sponsorship Opportunities

Aug 30, 2018

The National Capital Chapter of the American Society of Safety Professionals is once again looking for meeting sponsors. With more than 300 members in safety and health, we offer sponsors a way to directly connect with leaders within our industry and help pave way for those that will soon be joining our ranks.

Here’s your chance to help our small organization make a big impact. Your support enables the National Capital Chapter to expand our annual student scholarship program through the ASSP Foundation. It also allows us to increase our efforts to cost-effectively connect Safety Professionals with one another and resources that will help advance our efforts in our respective work communities.

For your sponsorship payment of $250, you are provided the following benefits:

  • Be recognized with your Logo on the National Capital Chapter Website (;
  • Be recognized with your Logo in the Officer Installation Program;
  • Be recognized as a Meeting Sponsor in all official communication before and after the meeting; and
  • Receive a Thank You at the podium from our Chapter Leadership. 


Monthly meeting sponsorships will be scheduled on a first-received basis. The National Capital Chapter meets monthly September through June. If you are interested in sponsorship, please reach out to Membership and Sponsorship Chair Wyatt Bradbury (